Friday, November 28, 2014

The Bone Season


In the year 2059, several major cities have come under the control of the Scion. Paige Mahoney is part of the criminal underworld of London Scion known as the Seven Seals. She scouts for information by breaking into other people's minds. She has this power because she is a dream walker. Simply by being this type of clairvoyant is considered treason punishable by death. She is arrested and sent to a prison meant for her kind, and she discovers it is controlled by the Rephaim, who want voyants such as her, as soldiers in their army. Paige must struggle to survive and find a way to regain her freedom.

I really liked the world building. There were a lot of layers to this world, and I found it very interesting. I kept reading to learn more about this new and exciting world. It can seem like there is a lot of information coming at you, but keep reading it is well worth it. There were a few times that I thought the background information was a little awkwardly inserted, but on the whole, it was a well written novel. The characters also kept me interested. They were complex, and I liked several of the personalities a lot.

This was the first book in a series that is planning to have seven books. While a sequel does not surprise me, I am a little curious to see what happens to keep the series going for six more books. Clearly there is more to be revealed, which as a reader, I find exciting. My curiosity will definitely keep me reading this series. I think there is a lot of potential for this series, so I hope it stays strong for the next six books.

I recommend reading this book.

No comments:

Post a Comment